Skip to content

It's really not my style to audition for a reality TV show, but…

It’s not really my style to audition for a reality TV show; however, this is different! This is a classy show and I am getting nervous for the “audition,” which takes place this Thursday morning. Yikes!

I figured I could do some homework by watching the show last night. To call it “Homework” is a bit of an overstatement, especially considering reality TV is a serious guilty pleasure of mine.

Some of my personal favorite mindless TV shows this past year have been:  ABC’s, The Bachelor, Bravo’s Real Housewives of Beverly Hills and of course, Bravo’s Million Dollar listing. Naturally, I like the last one because it is about real estate. Sometimes I cringe when I watch it because I don’t think it always reflects realtors in the most positive light. I won’t pretend I don’t use some of their ideas and I am also impressed by their negotiating skills at times; however, I swear, our work is not as easy as it looks on that show!  It looks like those guys had everything handed to them on a silver platter. 

It is a struggle everyday to build and maintain a business pipeline in residential real estate. Can you tell I am a little bitter and jealous? I love my job, but I have to work hard at it everyday. Things are getting extremely hectic with the Spring market in full bloom.

Anyway, the show I watched last night for “homework” was HGTV’s show, Selling New York. This is HGTV’s highest rated TV show and it couldn’t be more different from any of the shows I mentioned earlier in this post.  This show reflects how hard realtors have to work to get to be a respected agent in a big city. Something I am striving to be!  It also shows off some pretty awesome properties.

About This Show – (HGTV’s Words)

They are assertive, razor-sharp and always compelling real estate brokers in the country’s most competitive market. In a city of over 8 million people, where the average sale price is over $2 million, the competition to seal the deal is stiff. Now, catch a rare glimpse into a world where a solid reputation at the top of the real estate food chain involves swimming with the sharks, going head-to-head with the best, and rubbing shoulders with the wealthiest and trendiest of New York‘s social, political and artistic elite. This is Selling New York.

To read more, check out HGTV’s website: http://www.hgtv.com/selling-new-york/show/index.html

I am not going to lie, I am pretty intimidated. My Mom might fit right in, but I have a lot of work to do. The show recently expanded to LA and has finished filming, Selling Los Angeles.  And of course, HGTV is coming to Dallas to start filming, Selling Dallas this June – wish me luck in my audition.

I don’t like to say never, but I have said I would never go on a reality TV show before. I really feel like this show is the one exception.

Regardless of whether we make it, this is going to be an interesting opportunity! Plus I can see what it is like behind the scenes of my guilty pleasure; reality TV shows. I have much respect for the agents on Selling New York and it is a privilege to even be considered.

Wish us luck!

~ Bonnie

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Leigh Cohen #

    You rock.

    March 29, 2011
  2. RJ Harber #

    I can’t wait to watch it!

    March 30, 2011
  3. sarah loucks #

    The Besserer women were born for this!!!

    March 30, 2011
  4. Jo Cohen #

    If you are half as good as your writing, this should be a no brainer for you. You two are destined for Hollywood. Can Leigh and I go with you? You don’t need luck . You’ve got talent!!!

    March 30, 2011
    • Haha!
      Thank you!! If we make it to Hollywood, you and Leigh are definitely coming with. Glad someone appreciates my writing! I am a little rusty.

      April 2, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. It's really not my style to audition for a reality TV show, but… (via bonniebesserer) | bonniebesserer

Leave a Reply

