Skip to content

The Glamorous Life of a Real Estate Agent….Pause, NOT!

The Glamorous Life of a Real Estate Agent

July 5, 2011l


A day in the life of a real estate agent can be glamorous, can’t it? Showing homes in 113 degree temperatures, running away from dogs that weren’t mentioned in the showing instructions, finding unexpected naked people in the bathroom while showing the master bath.

Recently my mother, a realtor in Santa Cruz County, called me. “I just showed 4,000 square feet of poop”, she said. “Literally. I walked through the house and it was covered in dog poop. In every room, there were piles and piles and piles of poop.” Sounds exciting, doesn’t it? She managed to impress her clients by touring the entire property, poop and all. It’s no shock her clients didn’t write in on that one.

Or how about going to check on your listing, only to find it had burned down, as Andy Kaufman and his My East Bay Agent Team in Berkeley, California did.  Too bad, as they had just accepted an offer on the property only the day before.

You have heard the gruesome horror stories. You have probably lived them. Yet often, some people think being a real estate agent is all champagne wishes and caviar dreams and commission checks.  It’s a tough job, particularly in this market climate where long escrows, long listing periods and short sales a plenty are more likely to be the norm than robust commission checks and quick sales.

We thought it would be fun to hear your stories of “The Glamorous Life of A Real Estate Agent”. A day in the life of an agent can be a wacky one. Have a story to share?  Briefly share it below in the comments. We may feature it in future posts.

Go ahead.  What’s your story?

The Above Was Written by Ginger Wilcox…. Below are a few anecdotes of my own:

ALTHOUGH, I HAVE TONS….

Lately, they mostly involve sweating so badly through my clothes that I am drenched to the core. The HOTTEST JUNE EVER in Texas has been miserable this year. I am taking at least three showers a day. About two weeks ago, I was showing a property in a nice, trendy, high-rise condo in Victoy Park. The client was a very nice family of 5 (3 young children). As we are stepping off the elevator to view the “magnificent infinity pool,” there was a couple outside skinny dipping and frolicking about (as one might call it).

I can’t begin to tell you how many alarms I have set off when the showing service has provided me with the wrong code, only to see my clients cover their ears from the blaring sound accompanied by the look of terror in their eyes as the police make their way down the street to make sure everything is kosher.

However; I must say, my pet peave and cherry on top of them all lately (Summer in Dallas) is when I have searched for weeks and hours for a lease property… My client’s fall in love. We finish multiple showings, lease applications, offers, deposit checks….only to find out from the agent that, “an offer was just accepted an hour ago and I haven’t had even had time to pull it off the market!”  Ooops, oh well! More disappointment from my clients and more long hot hours of searching in this heat and doing it all over again. It’s disappointing, but my clients hate it even more; as they are rushing to find a home before school starts back up!

I have seen bidets turned into candle holders with flower petals floating about. I’ve tripped down the stairs twice this month; once in front of my clients and next in front of a high-profile agent (spraining both ankles – once on each glorious occasion). Way to make a great first impression, right?

OH! I forgot to mention that  multi-tasking is a must when you are a realtor. You try not to get lost yourself; whilst giving directions at the same time. You park your cars in odd places and you are almost 99% guaranteed to scrape your car at least once a month while trying to squeeze into tight parking spots or make it on time to all of your appointments!

So, if you see someone who looks like me, walking down the street with a limp, phone on shoulder/ear, papers trailing about, don’t be afraid to say, “hi” to your friendly, local, poop-showing, ankle-spraining, friendly Real Estate Agent!!!

Wow, that felt good.

Don’t get me wrong, I love this job, but Ginger is right… This life ain’t all glitz and glam and champagne. Although, sometimes it can be. Just wish it was more often 🙂

It feels good to vent, but I can assure you that I have never walked through too much poop, nor been too busy for a referral or a new client. So, don’t hesitate to contact me!!

bbesserer@briggsfreeman.com  (Bonnie 214-364-2295)

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. RR #

    This suit is NOT black. This suit is black not. This suit is black, pause, not.

    This suit is black…………………………………………………………………………………………not.

    But enough of the ‘not’ jokes. I don’t know about your gig not being glamerous. Skinny dipping, cops, sweat, falling down stairs, alarms, squeezing into tight places and poop sounds like a pretty classy night.

    July 6, 2011
  2. Velma Bowman #

    BONNIE —

    WHAT A DELIGHTFUL – AND GRAPHIC – COMMENTARY ON THE LIFE OF A REALTOR! LOVED IT – GMVV

    July 6, 2011

Leave a Reply

